Buddhism: a religion unlike any other, teaching less about the importance of deities and spiritual laws, and more about a way of life that can transform the essence of our personhood.

This spiritual tradition dates back to what is now known as Nepal, beginning nearly three thousand years ago.

Though there are various sects of Buddhism today, there is a foundational understanding that all Buddhists share in their respect for the Buddhist tenets.

But why do people practice Buddhism? While there are a number of reasons, a main principle is in its understand that all creatures are intimately familiar with suffering, thus life should be about relieving this eternal suffering through openness and kindness.

Here is how you can practice Buddhism:

Living With the Four Great Bodhisattva Vows

1) Work to end the suffering of others

Buddhism teaches “the Four Noble Truths”, and these teach that suffering and life are intertwined.

Suffering can only ultimately be ended by breaking out of life’s cycle: birth, death, and rebirth.

We must work towards rescuing others from suffering, both mental and physical: to do this, we must reach nirvana, which is achieved by abiding by the Middle Way, or the Noble Eightfold Path.

2) Follow the Noble Eightfold Path

The Noble Eightfold Path is your path to nirvana, the state of bliss in which suffering no longer exists. These eight lessons include:

  • Right Speech, Right Livelihood, Right Action (The Five Precepts)
  • Right Concentration, Right Effort, Right Mindfulness (Meditation)
  • Right Thought, Right Understanding (Meditation, Mindfulness, and the Five Precepts)

3) Cut Ties to Desire and Need

Much of our life is dictated by our needs and wants. We may want the latest car, the shiniest car, the biggest house, but craving these material goods goes against everything Buddhism stands for.

4) Lifelong Learning

We must never believe that we have learned enough. Learning is a lifelong goal, and the more we learn, the closer we become to enlightenment.

Specifically, we must learn the dharma, and its relationship with suffering.

Living With the Five Precepts

The Five Precepts of Buddhism must be lived by to achieve a state of nirvana or enlightenment, the goal for all Buddhists.

These are different from Christianity’s Commandments; they are not rules from God, but fundamental lifelong undertakings we should live by to become the best versions of ourselves.

By following these precepts, we can better reach nirvana, and have a better life in our next rebirth.

These Five Precepts are:

  • Do Not Kill: This precept applies to all living creatures, including animals and insects. This is why you will find that the most devout Buddhists live vegetarian or vegan lifestyles.
  • Do Not Steal: Do not take items that are not yours. This applies to all items, including clothes, money, and food. We must also give to those who need our help, and not hoard items for ourselves.
  • Do Not Abuse or Exploit: Do not abuse or exploit others, sexually, mentally, physically, and emotionally. While you do not have to practice abstinence, you should be sure that your adult partner has given you consent. Be content with what you have and the partners you have.
  • Do Not Lie: The truth is of upmost importance to Buddhists. Do not lie, hide important information, and keep secrets. Be open and clear at all times.
  • Do Not Use Drugs: This includes psychoactive substances, alcohol, hallucinogens, and other drugs. Anything that can alter your mind is prohibited, as it inhibits one’s mindfulness, a crucial element of Buddhism.


Living With Buddhist Practices: Karma and Dharma


Karma is a key element of a Buddhist lifestyle. It is the belief that everything that you do has a weight of “good” or “bad”, and when your life ends, your overall karma will be judged. If your karma is positive, you will be reborn into a favorable new life; if your karma is negative, you will experience a worse life than your previous one.

The circumstances of our current life is determined by the karma of our previous life, and only through being a good person can we assure that our next life will be happier.

The difference between good actions and bad actions are the motivations we have behind those actions. Good actions are motivated by kindness, and the desire to relieve others from suffering. Bad actions are motivated by hatred, greed, and consist of acts that bring suffering upon others.


Another crucial concept in Buddhism is dharma, which is the reality of the world and your life.

Dharma changes constantly, and is altered by the way you see and interact with the world, as well as the choices you make.

You can think of dharma as the general understanding of the paths and tenants of Buddhism, or the way that you follow the Buddhist way of living.

To best incorporate dharma in your life, you must live in the moment and appreciate the life that you have. Be grateful, be thankful, and spend everyday working towards nirvana.

Meditation: The Buddhist Lifestyle

Finally, to practice Buddhism you must practice the most important daily activity to increase your mindfulness and openness: meditation.

Meditation allows one to be at one with their inner peace and suffering, and is the first step towards nirvana.

But meditation is more than just sitting in a quiet room, lost in your thoughts. Here is a quick guide to truly begin meditating:

  • Find a place where you can be alone: Find a quiet area where no one will bother you. Remove yourself from distractions, such as your phone, computers, and music.
  • Sit comfortably: While cross-legged is the most common position associated with meditation, it isn’t necessary. Sit in a way that is comfortable with you, one in which you can forget your body. Sit upright and relax.
  • Focus on your eyes: Most people choose to close their eyes to help them find their inner peace. However, closing your eyes isn’t necessary. If you wish to keep your eyes open, try lowering your gaze, or fixate it on an object in front of you.
  • Be mindful of your breathing: Focus on every breath. Concentrate on the air coming in and out of your body. Reflect on how each breath feels, on the weight of each push on your chest. Lose yourself in the moment.
  • Let your thoughts flow: And finally, let your thoughts flow. Don’t try to think about one certain thing. Do your best to blank out your mind, and let it wander freely without any direction.

For at least 15 minutes per day on the first week, you should meditate in the same position and in the same room.

If you want to continue meditating, be sure to extend your meditations by 5 minutes every week, until reaching a maximum of 45 minutes.

Use a timer in the background that you can forget about to avoid the temptation of looking at a clock.

Check out Hack Spirit's eBook on The Art of Mindfulness: A Practical Guide to Living in the Moment. 

Here's what you will get:

  • Learn what 'mindfulness' really is and the scientific benefits to practicing it daily
  • Practical exercises to be mindful throughout the day (even at work)
  • How to practice daily meditations to enhance peace and clarity of mind
  • Learn how to practice Yoga and Ujjayi Breath
  • Understand and implement the 7 key steps to practicing mindfulness

Check it out here.

Previous articleEmotional resilience: 10 crucial habits
Next articleSleep meditation: 10 steps to peaceful rest
Lachlan Brown
I’m Lachlan Brown, the founder and editor of Hack Spirit. I love writing practical articles that help others live a more mindful and better life. I’m also a passionate Australian football fan and digital marketing nerd. If you to want to get in touch with me, hit me up on Twitter or Facebook.